Specialty:
" Colonial Fort Condé is a partially reconstructed 18th-century fort that is located in the History Museum of Mobile. The museum went by different names, including Fort Louis, Fort Charlotte, and Fuerte Carlota, under various colonial powers. The extant remnants of the original fort were discovered during the construction of the Wallace Tunnel in 1966 and may be seen in Mardi Gras Park, facing Church Street. Colonial Fort Condé was originally built in 1723 by French explorers. The replica fort was opened in 1976 as part of the nation’s bicentennial celebration. The museum aims to collect, preserve, safeguard, and interpret over 117,000 artifacts that hold vital information about Mobile and the surrounding area’s past. The museum continues to be an invaluable source for present and future generations of citizens. Colonial Fort Condé encourages the discovery and understanding of its shared history through programs, publications, and exhibitions of enduring quality. Here, admission is free for children (5 and under) and members.
2026 Highlights: Colonial Fort Condé allows visitors to walk through the exhibits to see artifacts and recovered archaeological pieces of Mobile's colonial past and can also enjoy several living history events held throughout the year. "








